Mystics in a modern world

Where are all the mystics in a modern world? Where do they fit in this day and age? I don’t think most would advertise what they are. I mean, you won’t find them standing around saying wise things wearing white robes. I believe a true mystic would shy away from the limelight.

I think mystics are few and don’t want to become famous or well-known. I think they are most interested in the inner dimension of man. The outer man is usually a dependable reflection of the inner. You know someone by their deeds because ‘talk is cheap’. You would immediately know if someone were humble or a braggart.

I think mystics are probably some of the most down to earth centered feet on the ground people you’d ever want to meet, having had every earthly temptation thrown at them you could ever think of. Although, we can learn a great deal from mystics, our own everyday experiences are what’s mandated for personal growth.

That’s why I have talked about how essential life experiences are and that you can’t hide from life. If you withdrawal and become a hermit you don’t mature and if you don’t mature, character stagnates.

But, obviously looking around me, character growth is not valued highly. Yet, it’s not my job to judge world behavior. What is though good to our benefit is that intuition can alert you thereby save or protect you from dangers at large.

Being a mystic may have something to do with religion, but more with spirituality, which is part of religion. I have no problem with faith and religion. Everyone has the right to their own beliefs. Yet, in parts of the world, you will have your head taken off because of that.

Being or becoming a mystic starts right where you are, right now. You don’t have to be perfect, although your intention may be to seek it. Although, you may try, I wouldn’t advise it.

Perfection is subjective in nature and I don’t believe can be defined as a reasonable standard of attainment for all people. Some of us are happy just finding a little peace by learning how to meditate.

Avoiding doing that which you know you shouldn’t doesn’t make you more pious or spiritual. That’s not how we advance. We grow through making mistakes. Yet, once you’ve learned a lesson, character (or conscience) demands of you not to make the same mistake twice.

You must have heard the old expression, “fool me once, shame on you, fool me twice shame on me”? And, who is the one who defines what being a ‘fool’ is? Often, you know one when you see one, but not always. Again, it’s subjective in nature. One can only judge himself by who he thinks he is.

About Steven Humphreys

I live in 'sunny' California with my lovely wife, three wonderful cats and very handsome dog! I write a lot these days about different subjects I have a 'heartfelt and deep-seated' interest in. I surely hope you will find my articles 'interesting and informative' as well. I sincerely appreciate your interest and you are welcome to visit here as often as you'd like. You can read more 'about me' within this site. Thank you for visiting!
This entry was posted in Life, Mystical experiences and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

